Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Post Card of Willis Park
The City of Bainbridge has determined that the historical, cultural, and aesthetic heritage is among its most valued and important assets and that the preservation of this heritage is essential to the promotion of the health, prosperity and general welfare of the people.

The commission consists of nine members with two ex-officio members, including the City Planner and Community Development Director. Members include Darrin Blankenship, Rhonda Kendrick, Natalie Kirbo, Jenny Livingston, Clayton Penhallegon, Joe Sweet, Jr., and Allyson Whittaker.
The Historic Preservation ordinance was adopted by the governing body in order to stimulate revitalization of the business districts, historic neighborhoods, and to protect and enhance local historical and aesthetic attractions to tourists and thereby promote and stimulate business.

You can view the Historic Preservation ordinance by clicking here.

For more information:
U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service-Preservation Brief #8 (Aluminum and Vinyl Sidings on Historic Buildings):
U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service-Preservation Brief #16 (The Use of Subsitute Materials on Historic Building Exteriors):
National Park Service, Illustrated Guide to the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation:
(Also available from the National Trust Main Street Center at www.mainstreet.org)

Local Design Guidelines:
Local Historical Development Guidelines.pdf